• Event organized by CONCYTEC and CONACYT under the auspices of APEC in the framework of the PPSTI 05 2016A project 

From the 13 to 15 of June, Lima will host the International Workshop "Knowledge Transfer Best Practices Between APEC Economies". This workshop aims to: 1) share experiences of public policies that can promote the creation of more efficient mechanisms in the process of university-company knowledge transfer, 2) present successful cases in technology transfer processes and, 3) therefore to improve the economic growth of the Asia-Pacific Region. The National Council of Science, Technology and Innovation of Peru (CONCYTEC) and the National Council of Science and Technology of Mexico (CONACYT) have organized this workshop.

This event provides a forum of discussion focused on computer experts, researchers, technology transfer bureaus and representatives of the private sector from the APEC economies. The workshop will function as a space so all sectors can interact, share information, recommendations and successful experiences of their economies of origin, on four prioritized topics: agriculture, health, mining and fishing/aquaculture; topics that have been considered as top common interests between the organizing countries.

The workshop has the financial backing and support of the PPSTI Working Group or Policy Partnership on Science, Technology and Innovation, in which Peru is an active member, alongside other 21 economies. Up to date economies of Chile, China, Indonesia, Malaysia, Mexico, Russia, Thailand, Vietnam and Peru have confirmed their participation.


The PPSTI Working Group aims to link science and technology, as well as the development of an effective innovation policy within the Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation Forum, which brings together the most important and dynamic economies of the world.

In Peru, the National Council of Science, Technology and Technological Innovation (CONCYTEC), as the governing body of SINACYT, works as an active member and supporter of the work of the PPSTI especially throughout the APEC Leaders Declaration and its agenda on science, technology and innovation.

APEC, founded in November 1989, is a forum composed of 21 economies of the Asia-Pacific region, which seeks to promote the liberalization of trade and investment, facilitate business and promote economic cooperation among its members.

They are part of this forum: Australia; Brunei Darussalam; Glen; Chile; People's Republic of China; Hong Kong, China; Indonesia; Japan; Republic of Korea, Malaysia; Mexico; New Zealand; Papua New Guinea; Peru; Philippines; Russia; Singapore; Korea; Chinese Taipei; Thailand; United States and Viet Nam.

Miraflores, June 4, 2018
CTeI Office of Communications and Projection